Skip to Navigation

All Fall Down

News & Reviews

  • Emmylou Harris, Shawn Colvin to Join Grammy Festival at Sea: Women Who Rock Cruise, November 4–8, 2014

    Emmylou Harris and Shawn Colvin will join fellow Grammy Award-winning and/or -nominated women in music for Grammy Festival at Sea: Women Who Rock, a four-day cruise aboard the Norwegian Pearl, departing from Miami and headed to the Bahamas, November 4-8, 2014. Harris and Colvin join Heart, Indigo Girls, Estelle, Skylar Grey, and others for performances, Q&As, and other activities hosted by the performers. There also will be one-of-a-kind opportunities to interact with the artists on board.

  • Shawn Colvin, Steve Earle to Tour US in March

    Grammy Award-winning singer-songwriters Shawn Colvin and Steve Earle announce a special run of tour dates together this March: “Songs and Stories, Together Onstage,” in which they share the stage for a night of song swapping, duets, storytelling, and guitar playing. These two longtime friends and mutual admirers will share music from their extensive catalogues as well as some of their favorite songs by other classic songwriters. The tour kicks off outside Pittsburgh on March 18, followed by stops in Bethlehem, Indianapolis, Atlanta, Troy, Boston, Philadelphia, Durham, Nashville, and Richmond.

About this Album

On June 5, 2012, Nonesuch Records will release the new Shawn Colvin album, All Fall Down. A collection of 11 songs, All Fall Down is Colvin’s eighth studio album and the first to be produced by her longtime friend and cohort Buddy Miller (Robert Plant, Solomon Burke). Recorded in Nashville, with a group of stellar musicians, All Fall Down features performances by Alison Krauss, Emmylou Harris, Jakob Dylan, Bill Frisell, Viktor Krauss, Brian Blade, Stuart Duncan, and Julie Miller, among others.

All Fall Down follows the Grammy Award winner’s 2009 Nonesuch solo acoustic set, Shawn Colvin Live, and her acclaimed 2006 studio record, These Four Walls, about which the Washington Post said: “As with Colvin's earlier work, the songs are easy to love, with smooth surfaces to glide along if one merely wishes to skim the top. But the emotions fueling the lyrics are more complex and more mature than anything she's offered previously. The image of a middle-aged woman laid bare in These Four Walls isn't one for the industry. It's one for the ages.”

The new album was recorded in Miller’s home studio, and each song is deeply personal to Colvin, who describes All Fall Down as "an album about loss but also about redemption and resolution." The release of All Fall Down comes on the same date as William Morrow/HarperCollins publishes her memoir, Diamond in the Rough, which insightfully and candidly looks back over a rich lifetime of highs and lows. The wit, lyricism, and empathy found in the book are traits that have long characterized Colvin’s songwriting and her live performances.

Colvin wrote or co-wrote eight of the album’s 11 tracks. “Change Is on the Way” was co-written with Colvin’s Three Girls and Their Buddy (the touring group of Buddy Miller, Emmylou Harris, Patty Griffin and Colvin) partner Patty Griffin, and “Seven Times the Charm” shares writing credits with Jakob Dylan and longtime Colvin collaborator John Leventhal, who also co-wrote “All Fall Down,” “Knowing What I Know Now,” and “The Neon Light of the Saints,” which was written specifically for HBO’s New Orleans drama Treme and will be featured in an upcoming episode. (Colvin was a guest star on the show last year.) Bill Frisell penned “Anne of the Thousand Days” with Colvin, and Viktor Krauss co-wrote “I Don’t Know You” with her.

In the 22 years since the release of her debut album, Colvin has won three Grammy awards, released nine albums, maintained a non-stop national and international touring schedule, had her songs featured in major motion pictures, written a memoir, and created a remarkable canon of work.


Shawn Colvin, vocals (1-11), guitar (2-4, 7-11)
Buddy Miller, guitar (1-4, 6-10), backing vocals (1, 6), harmony vocal (3), melodica (6)
Bill Frisell, guitar (1, 2, 4, 5, 8-10)
John Deaderick, keyboard (1, 3, 6, 8, 9), accordion (2, 7, 10, 11)
Viktor Krauss, bass (1-11)
Brian Blade, drums (1-10)
Anne McCrary, backing vocals (1, 6)
Regina McCrary, backing vocals (1, 6)
Mike Poole, backing vocals (1, 6)
Carolyn Rosenfeld, backing vocals (1, 6)
Stuart Duncan, bowed zither (2), fiddle (3, 7)
Emmylou Harris, harmony vocal (2, 10)
Russ Pahl, pedal steel guitar (4, 5, 7, 10, 11)
Alison Krauss, harmony vocal (4, 8)
Jim Hoke, clarinet (6)
Steve Heman, cornet (6)
John Hinchey, trombone (6)
Jakob Dylan, harmony vocal (9)
Julie Miller, harmony vocal (11)

Produced and Mixed by Buddy Miller at Dogtown Studios, Nashville, TN
Recorded by Mike Poole
Assistant Engineer: Gordon Hammond
Mastered by Jim DeMain at Yes Master Studios

Design by John Heiden
Photography by Michael Wilson

Written by Shawn Colvin and John Leventhal (1, 3, 6); Rod MacDonald (2); Shawn Colvin, John Leventhal, and Jakob Dylan (4); Shawn Colvin and Bill Frisell (5); Shawn Colvin and Patty Griffin (7); Shawn Colvin and Viktor Krauss (8); Shawn Colvin and Kenny White (9); Mick Flannery (10); B.W. Stevenson (11)

Mary Chapin Carpenter appears courtesy of Rounder Records; Jakob Dylan appears courtesy of Columbia Records; Alison Krauss appears courtesy of Rounder Records; Julie Miller appears courtesy of New West Records

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.