Skip to Navigation

About this Album

Premiered in 1930, Girl Crazy is perhaps the most influential of the Gershwin musicals, not least as the source of such standards as “But Not for Me,” “I Got Rhythm,” and “Embracable You.” With its joyous score now restored, and with a cast including the likes of Lorna Luft, Frank Gorshin, and Judy Blazer, the Gerswhin score is presented for the first time in its original context. The Chicago Tribune, placing it among the year's best, says the album "captures the exuberant flavor of early-'30s musicals."


Conducted by John Mauceri

Kate Fothergill: Lorna Luft
Danny Churchill: Davd Carroll
Molly Gray, Judy Blazer
Gieber Goldfarb: Frank Gorshin
Slick Fothergill: David Gariso
Patsy West: Vickie Lewish
Cowboy: Eddie Korbich
Sam Mason: Rex Hays

Vocal Quartet: Stan Chandler, Sguy Stroman, Larry Raben, David Engel
Chorus: Rondi Charleston, Colleen Clausing, Joanna Glushak, Roxann Parker, Deborah Unger, sopranos; Mary Lou Barber, Nancy Cotton, Sara Krieger, Joyce Nolan, Wendy-Jo Vaughn, altos; Mark Agnes, Anthony Bellov, Mark Coffin, Jack Doyle, Danny Marcus, tenors; Joe Gustern, Bill Repshar, Darold Riley, Steve Steiner, Bob Wrenn, basses

Violins: Matthew Raimondi, Ethel Abelson, Martin Agee, Sanford Allen, Ann Labin, Ann Leathers, Carmel Malin, Anthony Posk, Maralyn Reynolds, Elliot Rosoff
Viola: Harold Coletta, Olivia Koppell, Julien Barber, Ann Barak
Cello: Charles McCracken, Julius Ehrenworth, Jesse Levy
Bass: Jack Lesberg
Woodwinds: Julius Baker (flute), Harry Sargous (oboe, English horn), Phil Bodner (alto saxophone, clarinet, baritone saxophone), Wally Kane (alto saxophone, clarinet, baritone saxophone), Jack Kripl (tenor saxophone, flute, clarinet)
Trumpet: David Brown, Peter Ecklund, Randy Sandke, John Frosk
Trombone: Joel Helleny, Jack Gale
Drums: Arnold Kinsella
Percussion: Phil Kraus
Guitar: Howard Alden, Rick Loewus
Piano: Dick Hyman, Bernie Leighton
Harmonica: Alan “Blackie” Schackner
Ocarina: Harvey Estrin, Robert Steen, John Campo

Produced by Tommy Krasker and Leroy Parkins Jr.
Recorded February 26-28, 1990, at BMG Studio C, New York City
Engineer: Paul Goodman
Additional Production: John McClure
Assistant Engineers: Vincent Caro and Sandy Palmer
Orchestrations by Robert Russell Bennett
Performing edition restored by Tommy Krasker, Larry Moore, and Keith Wiggs
Orchestrations edited by Larry Moore and Russell Warner
Vocal direction and additional arrangements: Paul Trueblood
Musical consultant: Dick Hyman
Orchestra contractor: Joe Malin
Music preparation supervisors: Bob Holloway/Donald Oliver, Chelsea Music Service, Inc. 
Casting by Julie Hughes and Barry Moss

Book by Guy Boltan and John McGowan
Music by George Gershwin, lyrics by Ira Gershwin

Art direction and design: John William Costa
Representative from the Library of Congress: Elizabeth H. Auman

Executive Producers: Robert Kimball and Robert Hurwitz

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.