Skip to Navigation

How I Knew Her

How I Knew Her cover art

Track Listing

Click tracks with speaker icon to listen

News & Reviews

  • Watch: Nataly Dawn Unveils "Leslie" Official Music Video

    Nataly Dawn, one half of the duo Pomplamoose, made her Nonesuch Records debut with the release of her solo album How I Knew Her earlier this year, comprising 12 autobiographical, introspective songs by Dawn, produced by her longtime partner Jack Conte. She has now unveiled the official music video for the album track "Leslie." "[Director] Eric Kallevig did something magical to my sad song," Dawn tells American Songwriter, which premiered the video: "he cast light on the story behind the lyrics, without sacrificing any of the mystery." Watch it here.

  • Nataly Dawn Launches European Tour

    California-based singer/songwriter Nataly Dawn launches a tour of Europe for the first time, in support of her critically acclaimed new album, How I Knew Her, including two UK headline shows in London (Slaughtered Lamb, May 15) and Nottingham (Rescue Rooms, May 16), and seven shows in the UK supporting Lord Huron, starting at Junction 2 in Cambridge tonight. The European tour also includes dates in France, Netherlands, Belgium, and Germany. 

About this Album

Nonesuch Records releases How I Knew Her—the label debut from Nataly Dawn, the California-based singer/songwriter of the duo Pomplamoose—on February 12, 2013. 

How I Knew Her—comprising 12 autobiographical, introspective songs by Dawn—was produced by her longtime partner Jack Conte. The album was recorded at Prairie Sun Studios in Cotati, CA, with a group of accomplished musicians including Ryan Lerman (Ben Folds, A Fine Frenzy) on electric guitar, mandolin, banjo, and acoustic guitar; David Piltch (k.d. lang, Bill Frisell, Bonnie Raitt) on upright bass; Louis Cole (Louis and Genevieve, Pomplamoose); and Matt Chamberlain (Brad Mehldau, Fiona Apple, Tori Amos, Jon Brion) on drums. The studio, where many of Dawn's favorite Tom Waits albums were recorded, enabled the musicians to play one room as a full band. Oz Fritz engineered the album with Conte; it was then mixed by Mike Mogis and mastered by Bob Ludwig. The recording sessions were filmed and will periodically be released as companion videos including the above video for "Please Don't Scream" and videos for “Leslie” and “Araceli,” which are viewable on Dawn’s YouTube channel.

The daughter of missionaries, Dawn spent much of her childhood in Europe where she attended Lycées Français in France and Belgium before returning to the US to study art and French literature at Stanford University. It was there that she met Conte and formed Pomplamoose, eventually performing, recording, and editing songs and videos entirely on their own in their Northern California home. Their first upload to YouTube was an original collaboration, “Hail Mary,” which was featured on the YouTube homepage. In 2010 the duo began releasing creative covers of pop songs such as Beyoncé’s “Single Ladies” and Lady Gaga’s “Telephone,” which grew their fanbase even further. Pomplamoose played 20 live dates in 2011 to sold-out audiences across the US. Before coming to Nonesuch, Dawn raised more than $100,000 via Kickstarter to make How I Knew Her.

In 2010 Pomplamoose released its first compilation of original songs with lyrics by Dawn entitled Pomplamoose VideoSongs, as well as an album of covers titled Tribute to Famous People. That same year, the duo also released The Holiday EP, in conjunction with, as an incentive for a charity book drive, raising more than $130,000 in books for the Richmond, CA, school system. Pomplamoose’s music can also be heard in a series of national television spots for Hyundai and Toyota. Nataly Dawn’s previous solo album, 2009’s Her Earlier Stuff, was a compilation of 12 songs that she had put up on YouTube over the course of the previous two years.


Nataly Dawn, vocals (1-12), acoustic guitar (1-9, 12), piano (11)
Ryan Lerman, banjo (1, 2, 7), electric guitar (1-3, 5, 6, 8-10), mandolin (2, 5, 7)
Jack Conte, organ (1, 8), percussion (1-3, 5, 9, 10), tambourine (1, 3, 8-10), piano (2, 5, 6), hand claps (2, 7, 8-10), claves (2), snare (2), toms (5), snaps (7), acoustic guitar (10), bass drum (11)
Matt Chamberlain, drums (1, 3, 5, 9)
David Piltch, upright bass (1-3, 5, 6, 8-10)
Anton Patzner, violin (1-3, 5, 6, 11)
Lewis Patzner, cello (1-3, 5, 6, 11)
Louis Cole, drums (2, 6, 8, 10)
Anthony Blea, violin (3, 11)
Yuri Kye, violin (3, 11)
Jacob Hansen-Joseph, viola (3, 11)
Brady Anderson, cello (3, 11)
Larry Goldings, piano (9)
Joe Cohen, saxophone (9)
Melecio Magdaluyo, saxophone (9)
Mike Olmos, trumpet (9)
Jeff Cressman, trombone (9)

Produced, Arranged and Orchestrated by Jack Conte
All Songs & Vocal Harmonies Written by Nataly Dawn
Engineered by Oz Fritz, with Assistant Engineer Isha Erskine, at Prairie Studios in Cotati, CA
Additional Engineering by Jack Conte
Mixed By Mike Mogis at Arc Studios, Omaha, NE
Mastered by Robert C. Ludwig at Gateway Mastering Studios, Portland, ME
Album Design & Photography by Jeffrey Marini

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.