Skip to Navigation

Locked Down

Locked Down cover art

Track Listing

Click tracks with speaker icon to listen

News & Reviews

  • Emmylou Harris, Carolina Chocolate Drops, Dr. John, Dan Auerbach Perform on PBS Programs Showcasing Americana Music

    Emmylou Harris will be a familiar face and voice on PBS in the coming days, as she is among the artists featured on two programs showcasing Americana music airing this weekend: Nashville 2.0, exploring the vibrant Americana music scene, with interviews and performances from Harris, Carolina Chocolate Drops, and more; and Austin City Limits' special with highlights from the Americana Music Festival 2013, including performances from Harris with Rodney Crowell and Dr. John with Dan Auerbach. 

  • Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell Earn Americana Award for Duo of the Year, Album of the Year; Dr. John for Lifetime Achievement

    Congratulations to Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell, who took home the Duo of the Year and Album of the Year awards for their album Old Yellow Moon at the Americana Music Association Honors & Awards ceremony last night at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, and to Dr. John, who was presented the Lifetime Achievement Award for Performance by The Black Keys' Dan Auerbach. You can listen to the show at PBS's Austin City Limits will broadcast an edited special on November 23. Voice of America and Bob Harris of BBC2 will broadcast overseas in the following weeks.


About this Album

2012 Grammy Award Winner: Best Blues Album


Storied musician and Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Dr. John—Mac Rebennack—releases Locked Down, a startling album that marks a significant departure from his recent efforts, on April 3, 2012. The new album, produced by The Black Keys' Dan Auerbach, is Dr. John's first for Nonesuch Records. The vinyl album, which also includes the complete album on CD, is out on Record Store Day, April 21.

Listen to the album track "Revolution" here:

Revolution by Dr. John

It’s an entirely new approach for the iconic Dr. John, featuring as it does his collaboration with Auerbach and a band of young musicians Auerbach hand-picked to make Locked Down at his studio Easy Eye Sound in Nashville. "It was way cool cutting this record with Dan and the crew he put together for it," says Rebennack. "It's reel HIP."

For his part, Auerbach says about the collaboration: "Mac inspired me every single day we were in the studio together: musically, spiritually, cosmically ... something special seemed to be happening and everyone involved could sense it. For my money, Mac's one of the greatest who ever was and who ever will be ... I'm so honored to have had this opportunity to work with him."

Auerbach, a long-time fan of the influential musician, dubbed “the Night Tripper” in the late 60s, visited Dr. John late in 2010 in his hometown New Orleans, announcing his ambition to produce "the best record you've made in a long time." Rebennack replied that he had done his research—his children had told him good things about The Black Keys—and the conversation led to an agreement to collaborate on the 2011 Bonnaroo Jam being curated by Auerbach.

That performance—called by New York Times critic Ben Ratliff in his best-of-the-year list “deep and oozy, close-to-the-vest, low-frequency funk”—confirmed that something unusual was taking place and led to September recording sessions in Nashville. Dr. John returned to Nashville at Thanksgiving to complete the vocals and Locked Down was mixed by Auerbach and completed in early 2012.


Dr. John, keyboards, lead vocals
Dan Auerbach, guitar, percussion, background vocals
Max Weissenfeldt, drums, percussion, background vocals
Leon Michels, keyboards, percussion, woodwinds, background vocals
Nick Movshon, electric and upright bass, percussion, background vocals
Brian Olive, guitar, percussion, woodwinds, background vocals
The McCrary Sisters (Regina, Ann & Alfreda), background vocals

Produced by Dan Auerbach
Recorded at Easy Eye Sound, Nashville, TN
Engineered by Collin Dupuis
Mixed by Dan Auerbach and Collin Dupuis
Studio assistance by Danny Tomczak
Mastered by Brian Lucey at Magic Garden Mastering

All songs written by Dr. John, Daniel Auerbach, Maximilian Weissenfeldt, Leon Michels, Nick Movshon and Brian Olive

Art Direction and Photo Coloring by Michael Carney
Dr. John Photographs by Joshua Black Wilkins
Studio Photographs by Alysse Gafkjen
Album Notes by Gabe Soria

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.