Skip to Navigation

Orfeu [Soundtrack]

News & Reviews

  • Caetano Veloso’s New Album, "Abraçaço," Out Now on Nonesuch Records

    Caetano Veloso’s new album, Abraçaço, is out today in North America on Nonesuch Records. The album, which was released in 2012 in South America and Europe, won a Latin Grammy for Best Singer-Songwriter Album. Abraçaço is the final installment of a trilogy with the youthful trio of 2007’s and 2009’s zii e zie known as the Banda Cê. A fusion of the traditional Tropicália style and the indie pop of contemporary Rio, Abraçaço includes 11 original songs written by Veloso. KCRW says the album finds Veloso "at his best."

  • Caetano Veloso's New Album, "Abraçaço," Streaming in Full on WNYC Soundcheck, KCRW

    Nonesuch Records releases Caetano Veloso’s album Abraçaço in North America next Tuesday, March 25. But you don't need to wait till then to hear it: the album is streaming in full via WNYC's Soundcheck. "Abraçaço, (which means “big hug”) is not some subdued, late-career exercise in nostalgia or retrospection," asserts Soundcheck host John Schaefer. KCRW, also streaming the album, calls it Veloso "at his best." You can download two album tracks, "A Bossa Nova É Foda" and "Um Abraçaço," when you pre-order the album in the Nonesuch Store.

About this Album

Caetano Veloso's Nonesuch CD catalog is now available from the Nonesuch Store; however, free album MP3 downloads, available with other discs in the Store, are not yet included with these CDs.

Caetano Veloso followed his 1999 Grammy-winning release Livro, a recording that brought the heralded Brazilian singer-songwriter to even greater acclaim in the US, with a soundtrack for the Carlos Diegues film Orfeu. Supervised and produced by Veloso with additional production assistance from Arto Lindsay and Jaques Morelenbaum, Orfeu is an eclectic compilation which reflects various trends in Brazilian popular music while paying tribute to the great masters of the past. The Chicago Sun-Times says the soundtrack "is jam-packed with stylistic variety, ranging from breezy bossa novas to sweeping orchestral extracts."

Veloso supervised the re-recording of songs from the original screenplay, whose soundtrack introduced bossa nova to the world outside Brazil. And, since the music most often heard in the favelas today is rap, the Orfeu soundtrack includes some hard-hitting indigenous hip-hop, alongside samba and the new ballad "Sou Você (I Am You)," composed by Veloso. Other songs are written by Jobim, Sargento, and de Moraes, co-author of the classic “Girl from Ipanema.”

Orfeu is a retelling of the Greek myth of Orpheus and Eurydice, originally captured on screen in the 1959 film Orfeu Negro (Black Orpheus) by French director Marcel Camus. Although both films are based on the Brazilian poet and playwright Vinícius de Moraes’ play Orfeu da Conceição, Orfeu’s director Carlos Diegues (Bye Bye Brazil) is emphatic about the fact that his Orpheus is not a remake of the French film. Diegues’s Orfeu, set in the favelas of Rio, realistically depicts the paradox that “on one hand the favela is a social embarrassment to the country, the result of a regime of exclusion that brings forth misery and injustice. On the other hand it is also a cultural treasure, a gold mine of human relations that is always alive and that needs to be discovered and stimulated,” says Diegues.

The main plot in Orfeu, Diegues says, “is still a reflection of human passion, its boundless obsession, its vertiginous nature, and how it permeates everything around it. This human desire for love, above and beyond life and death, which has an impact that can only be compared to the impact felt in the original Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare.”


Toni Garrido, vocals (1, 2, 5)
Caetano Veloso, vocals (1, 6, 8)
Gabriel O Pensador, vocals (1)
Samba School Unidos do Viradouro (1), under the direction of Mestre Jorjão]: Alceu Maia, Adilson Bernardino, cavaquinho; Josimar Monteiro, seven-string guitar; Josimar Monteiro, Aldemir Vasconcelos, Heitor Filho, Ubiratan Oliveira, José Lima, cuica and snare drums
Heitor TP, guitar (2, 3, 5, 6), improvisation (10)
Orchestra (2, 7-9, 11-14, 16, 17)
Zezé Motta, Nelson Sargento, vocals (4)   
Bira Show, percussion (4)  
Josimar Monteiro, cavaquinho and percussion (4)
Angela Só, Thalauy, Carla Pietro back-up vocals (4)
Maria Luiza Jobim, vocals (7)  
Ramiro Mussoto, improvisation (10, 15)

Violin: Giancarlo Pareschi, Bernardo Bessler; José Alves da Silva, João Daltro de Almeida, Alfredo Vidal, Carlos Eduardo Hack, Michel Bessler, Antonella Pareschi, Ricardo Amado da Silva, Carmelita Reis da Souza, Paul Prates Barbato, Walter Hack, Marie Christine Bessler
Viola: Marie Christine Bessler, Frederik Stephan, Jairo Diniz Silva, Jesuina Passaroto
Cello: Alceu de Almeida Reis, Márcio Malard, Cássia Pssaroto de Menezes, Jorge Ranevsky
Acoustic Bass: Ricardo Candido, Denner de Castro
Oboe: José Francisco da Silva
Flute: Andréa Ernest Dias, Katia Pierre da Costa
Clarinet: Lúcia Morelenbaum, G. Jorup
Bass Clarinet: Cristiano Siqueira Alves
Harp: Cristina Braga
Trombone: Marco Antonio della Favera, Vitor Santos
Bass Trombone: Antônio Henrique de Oliveira
Trumpet: Jessé Sadoc do Nascimento
French Horns: Zdenek Svab, Ismael de Oliveira
Flügelhorn, Trumpet: Flávio de Melo
Orchestra Contractor: Paschoal Perrotta
Orchestral Arrangement and Conductor: Jaques Morelenbaum
Soloists/guest musicians:
Guitar: Heitor TP (Courtesy of Hollywood Records)
Cavaquinho and Guitar: Josimar Monteiro
Percussion: Ramiro Mussoto
Flügelhorn: Márcio Montarroyos
Trombone: Vittor Santos
Chorus: Duncan Lindsay, Graziela Silveira, Antonia Pelegrino, Fernanda Hermeto, Carolina Hermeto, Linda Kestemont, Carlos Fernando, Sergio de Souza, Fernanda Boechat, Ana Luiza Rehder, Sergio Cordeiro, Karinna Coelho, Max Viana, Djavan, Eliana Toledo, Maria Tereza de Souza, Cristina Lopes, Flavio Tambeline, Renata Almeida Magalhães, Gilda Mattoso, Leila Carvalho, Paula Burlamaqui, Maria Carmem Barbosa, D’Artagnan Junio, Gloria Perez, David Brati, Alejandro Nunez, Orlando Moraes, Dadi Carvalho, Soul Slinger, Marianne, Ebert, Paula Lavigne, Connie Lopes

Produced by Caetano Veloso
Co-produced by Arto Lindsay and Jaques Morelenbaum
Executive Producer: Conceição Lopes
Assistants to the Executive Producer: Thiago Braga, Alexandra Popovich, Robert Archey and Leleo
Mixed by Patrick Dillet
Recorded and Mixed at Estúdio Mega, Rio de Janeiro
‘Escola Viradouro’ recorded at Teatro de Lona da Barra, Rio de Janeiro, Mobile Studio Unit ARP
Recording Engineers: Patrick Dillet, Márcio Gama, Ronaldo Lima, Marcus Adriano, and Zorro
Studio Assistants: Max P.A. Guttenberg, Marcito Viana, Benhür, and Cláudio Rufo
Toni Garrido and Gabriel O Pensador appear courtesy of Sony Music

Artwork and Design: Patricia Maranhão
Design Adaptation: 27/12 Design
Cover Photo: Rogério Faissal


All formats of this album are available from Nonesuch in the United States only.

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.