Skip to Navigation

SFJAZZ Collective 2

SFJAZZ Collective 2 cover art

Track Listing

Click tracks with speaker icon to listen
1Moment’s Notice (John Coltrane)5:54
2Naima (John Coltrane)5:48
3Scrambled Eggs (Nicholas Payton)7:02
4Half Full (Joshua Redman)13:29
52 and 2 (Miguel Zenón)11:28
6Crescent (John Coltrane)8:48
7Africa (John Coltrane)14:06
8Development (Eric Harland)9:00

News & Reviews

  • Joshua Redman Trio Launches Residency at Yoshi's Oakland

    Bay Area native Joshua Redman is back on his home turf this week to play a five-night residency—nine shows—at Yoshi's in Oakland, beginning tonight, with bassist Matt Penman, of the SFJAZZ Collective, and drummer Greg Hutchinson, a featured player on Redman's latest Nonesuch release, the double-trio album Compass. Branford Marsalis tells the San Jose Mercury News of the special affinity between Redman and his drummer, calling Hutchinson "the perfect foil for Josh."

About this Album

Nonesuch releases SFJAZZ Collective’s second album—SFJAZZ Collective 2—on March 14, 2006. Saxophonist, composer, and bandleader Joshua Redman—whom The Los Angeles Times has called “one of the most vital figures in jazz of the new century”—created the SFJAZZ Collective with the San Francisco Jazz Organization (SFJAZZ) two years ago. The resident and touring ensemble is composed of eight musicians/composers drawn from the top ranks of today’s jazz artists. Each year, the ensemble performs an entirely new list of works, consisting of compositions by a modern jazz master and one new piece by each of the eight Collective members (commissioned by SFJAZZ).

The group’s first commercial recording, SFJAZZ Collective, was released by Nonesuch in 2005 and included original compositions as well as songs by Ornette Coleman (in arrangements by Gil Goldstein). That same year, the second incarnation of the Collective—with Joshua Redman (saxophone/artistic director), Bobby Hutcherson (vibes), Nicholas Payton (trumpet), Renee Rosnes (piano), Miguel Zenón (alto sax/flute), Matt Penman (bass), Isaac Smith (trombone), and Eric Harland (drums)—toured the U.S., playing original compositions by group members as well as works by jazz icon John Coltrane, newly arranged by Goldstein. Selections from that season comprise SFJAZZ Collective 2.

The 2006 SFJAZZ Collective line-up includes returning members Joshua Redman, Bobby Hutcherson, Nicholas Payton, Miguel Zenón, Renee Rosnes, Matt Penman, and Eric Harland, plus newcomer Andre Hayward on trombone.


Bobby Hutcherson, vibraphone, marimba
Joshua Redman, tenor & soprano saxophones, artistic director
Nicholas Payton, trumpet
Miguel Zenón, alto saxophone, flute
Isaac Smith, trombone
Renee Rosnes, piano
Matt Penman, bass
Eric Harland, drums

Produced by Jeff Cressman
Co-produced by Joshua Redman
Recorded and mixed by Jeff Cressman
Additional recording by Leslie Ann Jones at Skywalker Ranch, Christopher Willis at Chicago Symphony Center, and Saundra Palmer-Grassi at Jazz at Lincoln Center
Mastered by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound, New York, NY
Associate Producer: Laura Evans

Design by Doyle Partners
Photography by Jay Blakesberg

Executive Producer: Randall Kline

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.