Skip to Navigation

Sun Midnight Sun

Sun Midnight Sun cover art

Track Listing

Click tracks with speaker icon to listen
1The Foothills (Sara Watkins and Blake Mills)1:22
2You and Me (Sara Watkins)3:23
3You're the One I Love (feat. Fiona Apple) (Boudleaux Bryant & Felice Bryant)1:45
4When It Pleases You (Dan Wilson, arr. Blake Mills)6:50
5Be There (Sara Watkins / Sara Watkins & Blake Mills)3:50
6I'm a Memory (Willie Nelson; add'l arr. Blake Mills)3:56
7Impossible (Sara Watkins / Sara Watkins, Blake Mills & Sean Watkins)3:54
8The Ward Accord (Sara Watkins & Blake Mills)3:21
9Lock & Key (Sara Watkins & Jenny Anne Mannan / Sara Watkins, Sean Watkins & Blake Mills)3:39
10Take Up Your Spade (Sara Watkins)3:26

News & Reviews

  • Nickel Creek Embarks on First US Tour Since 2007 in Celebration of Band’s 25th Anniversary; Hear Song from Upcoming Album Now

    The Grammy Award–winning, multi-platinum selling trio Nickel Creek—Chris Thile (mandolin/vocals), Sara Watkins (fiddle/vocals), and Sean Watkins (guitar/vocals)—officially reunites for the first time since its 2007 self-described “indefinite hiatus” with a US tour this spring and summer, with shows in Nashville, New York, Boston, Washington, Chicago, and Oakland, as well as at the Telluride Bluegrass Festival. A limited ticket pre-sale will begin Tuesday, February 4, at 10 AM local time at Tickets will go on sale to the general public beginning Friday, February 7. Further information about a forthcoming Nickel Creek album and more on the tour will be announced shortly. You can hear a sneak peak of the album track “Destination” here.

  • Watch: Sara Watkins Performs "You and Me" on Yahoo! Music

    Sara Watkins, who is set to hit the road again as special guest of Jackson Browne next week, recently stopped by Yahoo! Music's Ram Country for a performance of the song "You and Me" off her latest album, Sun Midnight Sun, and to talk about the album and more. Watch the performance and interview here. Watkins's summer tour includes several dates with Browne; festivals sets at Telluride, Winnipeg, and Vancouver; and the Radio Romance Tour with Garrison Keillor and A Prairie Home Companion.

About this Album

Sun Midnight Sun, the second solo album from acclaimed singer, songwriter, and fiddle player Sara Watkins, will be released May 8 on Nonesuch Records in North America and May 28 outside North America. Produced by guitarist, singer, and songwriter Blake Mills, co-founder of the band Simon Dawes, the album features special guest appearances by Fiona Apple, Jackson Browne, Taylor Goldsmith (Dawes), Benmont Tench, and Sean Watkins.

Sun Midnight Sun follows Sara Watkins’ critically acclaimed 2009 self-titled solo debut produced by John Paul Jones. NPR said Sara Watkins “puts her great instrumental breadth on display as she plays the guitar, ukulele and fiddle in addition to her sweet-voiced singing,” and the Kansas City Star called it a record “for anyone who likes the sound of a good singer and a good band hammering out good music.”

In the three years since her last release, Watkins has been busy touring the world as guest fiddle player and vocalist with the Decemberists and joining Garrison Keillor on his nationwide Summer Love performance tours, as well as acting as his first and only guest host for A Prairie Home Companion broadcasts.

Sun Midnight Sun was recorded, mixed, and mastered by Shawn Everett at Zeitgeist Studio, Los Angeles, and includes songs written by Watkins (“You and Me,” “Take Up Your Spade”) as well as several collaborations with Mills (“The Foothills,” “Be There,” “The Accord,” “Impossible,” and “Lock and Key”). It also features songs by Dan Wilson (“When It Pleases You”) and Willie Nelson (“I’m a Memory”), and a rendition of The Everly Brothers classic “You’re the One I Love,” on which Fiona Apple duets with Watkins.

Watkins first gained recognition as a founding member of the Grammy Award–winning, platinum-selling trio Nickel Creek. When not on the road or in the studio, Watkins has guest-starred as fiddler and/or harmony vocalist on albums by Béla Fleck, the Chieftains, Ray LaMontagne, Ben Lee, Dan Wilson, Richard Thompson, and Alex Woodward, among others. Additionally, Watkins and her brother Sean continue an informal residency called the Watkins Family Hour at the L.A. club Largo, which often includes surprise cameos from friends and colleagues; free podcasts from the series are also available.


Sara Watkins, lead vocal, strings
Sean Watkins, harmony vocal, guitar
Blake Mills, harmony vocal, all other instruments

Benmont Tench, additional keys (1, 5-7)
Fiona Apple, vocal (3), additional harmony vocal (10)
Jackson Browne, additional harmony vocal (2, 6, 10)
Taylor Goldsmith, additional harmony vocal (6)

Strings on "Impossible" and "Lock and Key" arranged by Blake Mills

Produced by Blake Mills
Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Shawn Everett at Zeitgeist Studios, Los Angeles, CA

Design by Jeri Heiden
Photography by Aaron Redfield

Fiona Apple appears courtesy of Epic Records
Jackson Browne appears courtesy of Inside Recordings

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.