Skip to Navigation

The Master [Soundtrack] [LP + CD]

News & Reviews

  • Barbican to Present "Explorations: The Sound of Nonesuch Records" Marathon Weekend, May 17 & 18, 2014

    The Barbican's 2014 marathon weekend, May 17 and 18, will celebrate Nonesuch Records in the label's 50th anniversary year. Entitled Explorations: The Sound of Nonesuch Records, this curated weekend of events includes five concerts taking place in LSO St Luke's, Guildhall School's new Milton Court Concert Hall, and the Barbican Hall, with performances from Jonny Greenwood, Kronos Quartet, Brad Mehldau, Timo Andres, Sam Amidon, Natalie Merchant, Rhiannon Giddens, Olivia Chaney, and others performing works by Greenwood, Mehldau, Andres, Steve Reich, John Adams, Philip Glass, Frederic Rzewski, Henryk Górecki, Donnacha Dennehy, and more. Satellite events will include Kronos at 40 (May 13) and Jeremy Denk (May 24) with further events to be announced.

  • Steve Reich Named Artist in Residence at Big Ears Festival 2014; Jonny Greenwood to Perform "Electric Counterpoint"

    Steve Reich has been named the Artist in Residence at the 2014 Big Ears Festival, which will be held in downtown Knoxville, Tennessee, March 28–30, 2014. The composer will be in attendance, as Ensemble Signal will perform his groundbreaking 1976 piece Music for 18 Musicians, along with his new Radio Rewrite, inspired by two songs from Radiohead. Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood will perform Reich’s Electric Counterpoint, and So Percussion will perform his 1971 classic Drumming. Weekend passes go on sale this Friday, December 6, at noon.

About this Album

Nonesuch released composer Jonny Greenwood’s soundtrack to Oscar-nominated writer/director Paul Thomas Anderson’s new film The Master in the United States on September 11, 2012, to critical acclaim, with The New Yorker calling the score "rich and inventive" and Rolling Stone saying the film's "visual poetry is matched by Jonny Greenwood's haunting, hypnotic score." The album was released on vinyl on October 22, 2012. The LP includes 12 tracks pressed on 140-gram vinyl plus the full album on CD.

The Master, which Anderson also co-produced, features Philip Seymour Hoffman, Joaquin Phoenix, Amy Adams, and Laura Dern, is now playing in theaters across the US. A striking portrait of drifters and seekers in post–World War II America, The Master unfolds the journey of a Naval veteran (Phoenix) who arrives home from war unsettled and uncertain of his future—until he is tantalized by The Cause and its charismatic leader (Seymour Hoffman). The soundtrack comprises compositions by Greenwood along with recordings from the movie’s era. Performers include the London Contemporary Orchestra, AUKSO Chamber Orchestra, and Ella Fitzgerald, among others. International cinema and soundtrack release dates for The Master will follow later in the fall.

The Master is the second Anderson film that Greenwood has scored. Their previous collaboration, the critically praised soundtrack for 2007’s Academy Award–winning There Will Be Blood, also was released by Nonesuch. Widely known as the guitarist for Radiohead, Jonny Greenwood also is a highly respected composer. In addition to There Will Be Blood, Nonesuch released his score for Norwegian Wood in 2011 and his collaboration with Polish composer Krzysztof Penderecki earlier this year.

Nonesuch also released the soundtrack for Anderson’s Punch-Drunk Love—a smart pop score by composer/producer Jon Brion—in 2002. Anderson’s other previous films—all of which have been highly praised—include Boogie Nights (1997) and Magnolia (1999).


Tracks 1-02, 1-04, 1-06, 2-03, 2-04, 2-06: The London Contemporary Orchestra, conducted by Hugh Brunt; Daniel Pioro, violin I; Galya Bisengalieva, Daniel Llewellyn Roberts, violin II; Robert Ames, viola I; Charlotte Bonneton, viola II; Oliver Coates, cello I; Peteris Sokolovskis, cello II; Dave Brown, double bass; Pasha Mansurov, flute; Mark Simpson, clarinet; Simon Cox, trumpet; Mark Wood, Kate Hainsworth, french horn; Peter Foggitt, Antoine Françoise, organ, piano
Tracks 1-01, 2-01: AUKSO Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Marek Moś
Track 1-03: Ella Fitzgerald, vocals; Paul Weston & His Orchestra
Track 1-05: Shabaka Hutchings, clarinet; Jimmy Hastings, clarinet, flute; Daniel Pioro, violin; Neil Charles, bass; Tom Skinner, drums
Track 2-02: Jo Stafford, vocals; Paul Weston & His Orchestra
Track 2-05: Helen Forrest, vocals; Sy Oliver Orchestra

Produced by Jonny Greenwood and Graeme Stewart
Tracks 1-02, 1-04, 1-05, 1-06, 2-03, 2-04, 2-06 recorded by Graeme Stewart
Tracks 1-01, 2-01 recorded by Ewa Guziolek-Tubelewicz and Piort Witkowski at Alvernia Studios, Kraków, Poland
All Tracks Mixed by Graeme Stewart (except time hole, atomic 2 & 7, by Jonny Greenwood) at Abbey Road Studios, London
Assistant Engineer: John Barrett
Mastered by Christian Wright at Abbey Road Studios

All tracks composed by Jonny Greenwood, except track 1-03 by Irving Berlin, track 2-02 by Bob Russell & Paul Weston, and track 2-05 by Larry Coleman & Joe Darion.

Soundtrack Album Artwork by Shin Katan
Design by Dustin Stanton

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.