Skip to Navigation

zii e zie

News & Reviews

  • Watch: Caetano Veloso Joins Fellow Brazilian Musicians with Song in Support of Rainforest Alliance

    Caetano Veloso and many other celebrated Brazilian musicians, inspired to protect the rainforest of their native Brazil from further destruction, came together in Rio de Janeiro’s Floresta da Tijuca to create a music video and original composition in celebration of today, Earth Day 2014. The project supports the Rainforest Alliance, which works in partnership with Brazilian nonprofit Imaflora—as well as farmers, forest communities and cattle ranchers—to protect Brazil’s magnificent and ecologically fragile natural heritage.

  • Caetano Veloso’s New Album, "Abraçaço," Out Now on Nonesuch Records

    Caetano Veloso’s new album, Abraçaço, is out today in North America on Nonesuch Records. The album, which was released in 2012 in South America and Europe, won a Latin Grammy for Best Singer-Songwriter Album. Abraçaço is the final installment of a trilogy with the youthful trio of 2007’s and 2009’s zii e zie known as the Banda Cê. A fusion of the traditional Tropicália style and the indie pop of contemporary Rio, Abraçaço includes 11 original songs written by Veloso. KCRW says the album finds Veloso "at his best."

About this Album

The free album MP3 downloads, available with other discs in the Nonesuch Store, are not included with this CD.

Working with the youthful trio he introduced on 2007’s brash, rock-oriented , Veloso fashions a set rooted in samba but filtered through rock and funk, with songs that range from the bluntly political to the frankly sexual. The Times of London declared, “The Brazilian master remains in a league of his own.”


Caetano Veloso, acoustic guitar, voice, handclaps
Pedro Sá, electric guitar, backing vocals, handclaps
Ricardo Dias Gomes, bass, Fender Rhodes, backing vocals, handclaps
Marcelo Callado, drums, backing vocals, handclaps

A Universal Music Production
Produced by Moreno Veloso and Pedro Sá
Artistic direction: Daniel Silveira
A&R coordination: Marcelo Vilella
A&R assistants: Miguel Afonso and Patrícia Aidas
Executive coordinator: João Franklin
Assistant to the executive coordinator: Miguel Lavigne
Recorded and mixed at AR Studios and Mega Studios in Rio de Janeiro by Daniel Carvalho and Moreno Veloso
Assistants: Igor Ferreira, Luisão Dantas, Augusto César, and Leo Ribeiro
Mastered at Magic Master by Ricardo Garcia

All songs by Caetano Veloso, except 2 by Pedro Sá / Caetano Veloso, 8 by João Bosco / Aldir Blanc, and 11 by Serafim Adriano. Arrangements by Caetano Veloso, Pedro Sá, Ricardo Dias Gomes, and Marcelo callado.

Art direction: Caetano Veloso
Graphic design: Pedro Einloft
Lomography: Pedro Sá
Revisions: Luiz Augusto
Graphics coordination: Geysa Adnet
Translations: Arto Lindsay


This album is available from Nonesuch in the United States and Canada only.

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.