Skip to Navigation

Featured Releases

  • A Dotted Line

    Nickel Creek

    A Dotted Line

    From Nickel Creek—Chris Thile, Sara Watkins, Sean Watkins—A Dotted Line was produced by Eric Valentine and includes six new co-written songs, one tune by Thile, one by Sean Watkins, and two covers. "The most striking feature about A Dotted Line is the sheer strength of the singing, and the frequency with which it takes flight in three-part harmony," writes the New York Times. "The signature Nickel Creek blend comes across loud and clear." "It's tight, it's masterful; it's totally grown-up," says NPR. "But it's also a blast." The vinyl is due April 29. 

  • A Thousand Thoughts

    Kronos Quartet

    A Thousand Thoughts

    Released in Kronos Quartet's 40th anniversary year, A Thousand Thoughts is a look at the group's geographically wide-ranging sources, featuring music from 14 different countries, including China, India, Sweden, and Vietnam. The album includes the four cellists who have been in Kronos Quartet over the last 36 years. Ten of the album’s 15 pieces are previously unreleased. 

  • Abraçaço

    Caetano Veloso


    Abraçaço is the final installment of Caetano Veloso's trilogy with the youthful trio heard on and zii e zie known as the Banda Cê: Pedro Sá on electric guitar, Ricardo Dias Gomes on bass and Rhodes piano, and Marcelo Callado on drums. The album won a Latin Grammy for Best Singer-Songwriter Album and earned the #1 spot on Rolling Stone Brazil’s Best National Albums list. A fusion of the traditional Tropicália style and the indie pop of contemporary Rio, Abraçaço includes 11 original songs written by Veloso. KCRW calls it Veloso "at his best."

  • Bach: Sonatas and Partitas, Vol. 1

    Chris Thile

    Bach: Sonatas and Partitas, Vol. 1

    On Bach: Sonatas and Partitas, Vol. 1, mandolin virtuoso Chris Thile performs three Bach works written for solo violin: Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001; Partita No. 1 in B minor, BWV 1002; and Sonata No. 2 in A minor, BWV 1003. "His timing is meticulous," says The New Yorker, "but his version also has the liveliness that improvising musicians sometimes can bring to written material." Gramophone exclaims: "This is extraordinary playing from an extraordinary musician who is willing to stretch stylistic and technical boundaries to further his art while paying homage to one of the greatest composers of all time." The album was produced by Edgar Meyer.

  • City Noir / Saxophone Concerto

    John Adams

    City Noir / Saxophone Concerto

    John Adams's City Noir (2009) and the debut recording of his 2012 Saxophone Concerto are performed here by the St. Louis Symphony led by David Robertson, featuring saxophonist Timothy McAllister. City Noir, inspired by Los Angeles "noir" films of the 1940s and '50s, "is riveting," says the New York Times. Adams composed his Saxophone Concerto for McAllister, whom he calls "a fearless musician and risk taker," after McAllister's performance of the sax solo part in City Noir.

  • Go Back Home

    Audra McDonald

    Go Back Home

    Go Back Home, Audra McDonald's first album in seven years, features songs by composers with whom she has long been associated (Guettel, LaChiusa, Rodgers & Hammerstein, Sondheim) and some, like the Kander & Ebb title track, relatively new to her repertoire; in addition, McDonald continues to champion works by an emerging generation of composers. "As usual," says the Los Angeles Times, "she stuns upon entrance, exit and everything else." New York raves: "It’s entirely possible that Audra McDonald is the greatest singer alive." USA Today says: "McDonald has one of the warmest, most glorious singing voices on the planet." 

  • Here Lies Love: Original Cast Recording

    David Byrne + Fatboy Slim

    Here Lies Love: Original Cast Recording

    The Here Lies Love cast recording features music by David Byrne and Fatboy Slim as performed by the original 2013 Public Theater cast of the Obie Award-winning Here Lies Love musical, starring Ruthie Ann Miles and Jose Llana as Imelda and Ferdinand Marcos. The cast recording features seven new songs written specifically for the musical. CDs include a 80-page full color book with lyrics, an introduction by Public Theater director Oskar Eustis, and two essays by Byrne. Nonesuch Store pre-orders include an instant download of the new track "Child of the Philippines."

  • Inside Llewyn Davis – Original Soundtrack Recording

    Inside Llewyn Davis

    Inside Llewyn Davis – Original Soundtrack Recording

    Written and directed by Academy Award winners Joel and Ethan Coen and produced by Scott Rudin and Joel and Ethan Coen, Inside Llewyn Davis stars Oscar Isaac, Carey Mulligan, John Goodman, Garrett Hedlund, and Justin Timberlake. The film's soundtrack, produced by T Bone Burnett, Joel Coen, and Ethan Coen, with Marcus Mumford as its associate producer, features 12 new recordings created especially for the film and soundtrack. Also included is a never-before-released recording of Bob Dylan performing his song "Farewell," which was originally recorded during the sessions for his album The Times They Are A-Changin' and is available exclusively on this soundtrack.

  • J.S. Bach: Goldberg Variations

    Jeremy Denk

    J.S. Bach: Goldberg Variations

    Jeremy Denk's recording of J.S. Bach's Goldberg Variations includes a companion DVD with video "liner notes" of Denk demonstrating passages on the piano as he explains certain details of the iconic piece. The New York Times has remarked on Denk's "profound affinity with Bach," and the Philadelphia Inquirer has called his performance of the Goldberg Variations "mesmerizing." Says NPR: "Once you've entered the Denkian dimension, you won't want to leave."

  • Kronos Explorer Series

    Kronos Quartet

    Kronos Explorer Series

    Kronos Quartet and its artistic director/founding violinist David Harrington have long been known as interpreters of music from around the world, expanding the string quartet repertoire with works from across genres. Released in honor of the group's 40th anniversary year, Kronos Explorer Series comprises five classic albums from five different parts of the world—Pieces of Africa, Night Prayers, Caravan, Nuevo, and Floodplain—with new liner notes that include an in-depth interview of Harrington by renowned author Jonathan Cott.