Skip to Navigation

A Little Night Music

News & Reviews

  • Stephen Sondheim's "Road Show" to Receive Bay Area Premiere from Theatre Rhinoceros in San Francisco

    Stephen Sondheim's latest musical, Road Show, makes its Bay Area premiere with a 15-performane run presented by Theatre Rhinoceros at the Eureka Theatre in San Francisco, January 2–19, 2014. Starting January 9, performances will be preceded by a pre-show presentation from director John Fisher. The Benicia Historical Museum in nearby Benicia is running an exhibition about the Mizner brothers who inspired Road Show and were born in Benicia. Nonesuch Records and PS Classics released the original cast recording of Road Show in 2009.

  • Stephen Sondheim Documentary "Six by Sondheim" Debuts on HBO

    Six by Sondheim, a new documentary examining the life and music of composer-lyricist Stephen Sondheim, premieres on HBO tonight at 9 PM. Directed by frequent Sondheim collaborator James Lapine, Six by Sondheim is a personal profile of the artist presented through the six of his iconic songs. Told primarily in Sondheim’s own words, the documentary includes interviews with the composer, rarely seen archival material, and re-stagings of three songs produced especially for the film, including Audra McDonald performing "Send in the Clowns." NPR's Fresh Air calls the documentary "delightful." The Boston Globe calls it "stunning," a "must-see for musical theatre lovers." Watch the trailer here.

About this Album

Nonesuch Records and PS Classics release the cast album of Stephen Sondheim and Hugh Wheeler's A Little Night Music on April 6, 2010. The production, which opened on December 13, 2009, at the Walter Kerr Theatre, stars Academy Award winner Catherine Zeta-Jones, five-time Tony Award winner Angela Lansbury, and Olivier Award nominee Alexander Hanson. Directed by Trevor Nunn, it is the first revival of the show since its 1973 debut, which ran for 601 performances and won six Tony Awards, including Best Musical and Best Original Score. Tommy Krasker produced the album, which USA Today calls "the next best thing to seeing Lansbury's divine performance.".

A Little Night Music stars Catherine Zeta-Jones as Desirée Armfeldt, Angela Lansbury as Madame Armfeldt, Alexander Hanson as Fredrik Egerman, Aaron Lazar as Count Carl-Magnus Malcolm, Erin Davie as Countess Charlotte Malcolm, Leigh Ann Larkin as Petra, Hunter Ryan Herdlicka as Henrik Egerman. The cast also includes Stephen R. Buntrock, Bradley Dean, Katherine Leigh Doherty, Marissa McGowan, Betsy Morgan, Jayne Paterson, Kevin David Thomas, Keaton Whittaker, Karen Murphy, Erin Stewart, Kevin Vortmann.

Based on Ingmar Bergman's film Smiles of a Summer Night, A Little Night Music is set in a weekend country house in late 19th-century Sweden, bringing together surprising liaisons, long simmering passions, and a taste of love's endless possibilities. The story centers on the elegant actress Desirée Armfeldt (Zeta-Jones) and the spider's web of sensuality, intrigue, and desire that surrounds her. The Sondheim score features one of the composer's best-known songs, "Send in the Clowns," as well as "Every Day a Little Death," "The Miller's Son," and "A Weekend in the Country."

Trevor Nunn's production of A Little Night Music debuted to critical acclaim at London's Menier Chocolate Factory in November 2008 and subsequently transferred to the West End, where it played a successful limited engagement through July 25, 2009.


Cast (in order of appearance)
Henrik Egerman: Hunter Ryan Herdlicka
Mr. Lindquist: Stephen R. Buntrock
Mrs. Nordstrom: Jayne Paterson
Mrs. Anderssen: Marissa McGowan
Mr. Erlanson: Kevin David Thomas
Mrs. Segstrom: Betsy Morgan
Fredrika Armfeldt: Katherine Leigh Doherty, Keaton Whittaker
Madame Armfeldt: Angela Lansbury
Frid: Bradley Dean
Anne Egerman: Ramona Mallory
Fredrik Egerman: Alexander Hanson
Petra: Leighann Larkin
Desirée Armfeldt: Catherine Zeta-Jones
Count Carl-Magnus Malcolm: Aaron Lazar
Countess Charlotte Malcolm: Erin Davie
Swings: Karen Murphy, Erin Stewart, Kevin Vortmann


Tom Murray, conductor/keyboard
Violin: Matthew Lehmann, concertmaster; Suzy Perelman
Viola: David Blinn, Tawnya Popoff
Cello: Mairi Dorman-Phaneuf
Bass: Dick Sarpola
Woodwinds: David Young
Bassoon: Thomas Sefcovic
French horn: Patrick Pridemore
Celeste: Paul Staroba
Harp: Susan Jolles
Timpani: Charles Descarfino

Recording Produced by Tommy Krasker
Recorded January 4, 2010, at Avatar Studios, New York City
Recorded & Mixed by Bart Migal
Assistant Engineers: Bob Mallory, Akihiro Nishimura
Pro Tools Engineer: Victor Mancusi
Music Coordinator: John Miller
Music Consultant: Kristen Blodgette
Music Preparation: Emily Grishman
Music Copyist: Katharine Edmonds / Emily Grishman Music Preparation
Synthesizer Programmer: Bruce Samuels

Music & lyrics by Stephen Sondheim
Book by Hugh Wheeler

Design by Barbara DeWilde
Production Photography by Joan Marcus

Recording Executive Producer: Sean Patrick Flahaven

A Little Night Music opened in London at the Menier Chocolate Factory on November 22, 2008, and on Broadway at the Walter Kerr Theatre on December 13, 2009. The original production opened on Broadway at the Shubert Theatre on February 25, 1973.

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.