Skip to Navigation

Sweeney Todd (2006 Broadway Cast Recording)

News & Reviews

  • Stephen Sondheim's "Road Show" to Receive Bay Area Premiere from Theatre Rhinoceros in San Francisco

    Stephen Sondheim's latest musical, Road Show, makes its Bay Area premiere with a 15-performane run presented by Theatre Rhinoceros at the Eureka Theatre in San Francisco, January 2–19, 2014. Starting January 9, performances will be preceded by a pre-show presentation from director John Fisher. The Benicia Historical Museum in nearby Benicia is running an exhibition about the Mizner brothers who inspired Road Show and were born in Benicia. Nonesuch Records and PS Classics released the original cast recording of Road Show in 2009.

  • Stephen Sondheim Documentary "Six by Sondheim" Debuts on HBO

    Six by Sondheim, a new documentary examining the life and music of composer-lyricist Stephen Sondheim, premieres on HBO tonight at 9 PM. Directed by frequent Sondheim collaborator James Lapine, Six by Sondheim is a personal profile of the artist presented through the six of his iconic songs. Told primarily in Sondheim’s own words, the documentary includes interviews with the composer, rarely seen archival material, and re-stagings of three songs produced especially for the film, including Audra McDonald performing "Send in the Clowns." NPR's Fresh Air calls the documentary "delightful." The Boston Globe calls it "stunning," a "must-see for musical theatre lovers." Watch the trailer here.

About this Album

Nonesuch released the cast album from the current critically acclaimed Broadway production of Sweeney Todd: the Demon Barber of Fleet Street, with music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, in January 2006. Originally produced in 1979, Sweeney Todd had not been seen on Broadway in more than 16 years. Tony Award winners Patti LuPone (Evita) and Michael Cerveris (Assassins) lead the ten-person cast as Mrs. Lovett / Tuba, Percussion and Sweeney Todd / Guitar. The record was produced by Tommy Krasker.

Directed and designed by John Doyle, with music supervision and orchestrations by Sarah Travis, Sweeney Todd received numerous accolades since its  opening at the Eugene O’Neill Theater in October 2005. The New York Times’ Anthony Tommasini says, “Whatever Ms. Travis’s scoring loses in strength it gains in subtlety. Mr. Sondheim’s curious contrapuntal inner voices come through vividly, which brings out the music’s transfixing strangeness. Also, because the balances favor the singers, Mr. Sondheim’s ingenious lyrics leap off the stage at you. Though I will never tire of hearing [Jonathan] Tunick’s remarkable orchestration on the original cast album, I find Ms. Travis’s work revelatory.”

Rounding out the cast—which is entirely composed of musician/actors, who also act as the orchestra—are: John Arbo (Jonas Fogg / Bass), Donna Lynne Champlin (Pirelli / Accordion, Piano, Flute), Diana DiMarzio (Beggar Woman / Clarinet), Manoel Felciano (Tobias / Violin, Clarinet, Piano), Alexander Gemignani (The Beadle / Piano, Trumpet), Mark Jacoby (Judge Turpin / Trumpet, Percussion), Benjamin Magnuson (Anthony / Cello, Piano), and Lauren Molina (Johanna / Cello). The Sweeney Todd book was written by Hugh Wheeler from an adaptation by Christopher Bond.

Sweeney Todd is based on the 19th-century legend of a London barber, who is driven to crime when a malevolent judge takes his wife and child from him. His plan for revenge includes a cutthroat partnership with Mrs. Lovett, an enterprising businesswomen, who is soon producing the tastiest meat pies in London.

Composer and lyricist Stephen Sondheim’s previous Nonesuch recordings include Into the Woods (2002), The Frogs / Evening Primrose (2001), Saturday Night (2000), and Bounce (2004).


Patti LuPone, tuba, percussion
Michael Cerveris, guitar
Mark Jacoby, trumpet, percussion
Donna Lynne Champlin, accordion, piano, flute
Manoel Felciano, violin, clarinet, piano
Alexander Gemignani, piano, trumpet
John Arbo, bass
Diana DiMarzio, clarinet
Benjamin Magnuson, cello, piano
Lauren Molina, cello

Produced by Tommy Krasker
Recorded November 14-15, 2005, at Avatar Studios, NY, NY
Engineered by Tom Lazarus
Assistant Engineers:  Peter Doris, Chad Lupo
Edited by Bart Migal at Classic Sound, NY, NY
Mixed by Tom Lazarus at Classic Sound
Mastered by Joe Lambert at TruTone Mastering, NY, NY

Music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim

Design by Think Studio

Recording executive producer: Robert Hurwitz

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.