Skip to Navigation

Dreamgirls in Concert

About this Album

In 2002, Nonesuch Records released this new, full-length recording of the landmark musical Dreamgirls featuring Tony Award winners Heather Headley, Audra McDonald, and Lillias White, among other luminaries of musical theater. The discs were recorded live during a one-night-only Dreamgirls 20th Anniversary Benefit Concert for the Actors’ Fund in New York City on September 24, 2001. Dreamgirls, with musical direction by Seth Rudetsky, is produced by Tommy Krasker.

Dreamgirls, with book and lyrics by Tom Eyen and music by Henry Krieger, opened on Broadway on December 20, 1981. Directed and choreographed by Michael Bennett, the musical received six Tony Awards and went on to play more than 1,500 performances. Dreamgirls tells the story of the Supremes-like girl-group The Dreams and their rocky rise to superstardom. The recording features the now classic songs “And I’m Telling You I’m Not Going” and “One Night Only” among others, some never before recorded.

This recording featuring Tony Award Winners Heather Headley (Aida), Audra McDonald (Ragtime, Marie Christine) and Lillias White (The Life), as well as Tamara Tunie (Troilus and Cressida), Billy Porter (Miss Saigon), Norm Lewis (The Wild Party, The Who’s Tommy), Darius de Haas (Marie Christine), and James Stovall (The Life), is the first to contain all songs from the original Tony Awardwinning production.


Cast (in order of appearance)
M.C.: Lee Summers
Stepp Sisters: Rosa Curry, Kyra Little DaCosta, Kena Dorsey, Diedre Goodwin
Marty: James Stovall
Charlene: Aisha de Haas
Joann: Adrienne Lennox
Curtis Taylor, Jr.: Norm Lewis
Deena Jones: Audra McDonald
Tiny Joe Dixon: Adrian Bailey
Lorrell Robinson: Heather Headley
C.C. (Claridge Conrad) White: Darius de Haas
Effie Melody White: Lillias White
Little Albert and The Tru-Tones: Tomé Cousin, Bernard Dotson, Andre Garner, Dennis Stowe, Richard Waits
Jimmy (James “Thunder”) Early: Billy Porter
Towel Girl: Brandi Chavonne Massey
Wayne: Bobby Daye
Dave: Paul Castree
Sweethearts: Alice Ripley, Emily Skinner
Frank/Security Guard: Eric Woodall
Michelle Morris: Tamara Tunie
Jerry Norman: Brian Stokes Mitchell
The Five Tuxedos: Bernard Dotson, André Garner, Tomé Cousin, Dennis Stowe, Richard Waits
Les Styles: Aisha de Haas, Montego Glover, Adrienne Lennox, Brandi Chavonne Massey
Dwight/Stage Manager: John Bolton
Film Executives: Malcolm Gets, Brad Oscar, Patrick Wilson
Mr. Morgan: Lee Summers
Photographer: Orfeh
Christopher F. Davis: Philip Michael Baskerville
Steppin’/Vegas Dancers: Angelo Fraboni, Steve Geary, Edgar Godineaux, James Harkness, Derric Harris, Denis Jones, Darren Lee, T. Oliver Reid
Singers: Shoshana Bean, David Benoit, John Bolton, Paul Castree, Kate Coffman-Lloyd, Adam Hunter, Audrey Klinger, Jason Opshal, Orfeh, Sara Ramirez, Ric Ryder, Alan Souza, Virginia Woodruff
Announcers: E. Lynn Harris, Bernard Dotson, André Garner, Tomé Cousin, Dennis Stowe, Richard Waits

Conductor: Seth Rudetsky
Violin: Jorge Avila, concertmaster; Rick Dolan, Ashley Horne, Karen Karlsrud, Karl Kawahara, Blair Lawhead, Suzanne Ornstein, Ella Rutkovsky, Belinda Whitney, Paul Woodiel
Cello: Eileen Folson, Clay Ruede
Bass: Peter Donovan
Woodwinds: Jimmy Cozier, alto saxophone, flute, piccolo; Rick Heckman, tenor saxophone, oboe, English horn, flute; Jay Brandford, baritone saxophone, bass clarinet, flute
Trumpet/Flügelhorn: Dave Gale, Don Downs, Frank Green
Trombone: Charles Gordon, contractor ; Jack Schatz
Drums: Kerry Meads
Percussion: Shannon Ford
Guitar: Kevin Kuhn
Piano/Synthesizer: Steve Marzullo

Presented live in concert on September 24, 2001, at The Ford Center for the Performing Arts, New York City; Catherine Cooke, executive producer; Andrew Kato and Tim Pinckney, associate producers
Recording produced by Tommy Krasker
Recorded September 24, 2001, at The Ford Center for the Performing Arts, New York City
Recorded , by Joel Moss and Adam Blackburn
Assistant Engineers: John Bates, Max Feldman, Hardi Kamsani, Brandon KarpAdam Blackburn
Edited and Mixed by Joel Moss at The Hit FactorySound on Sound, New York City
Mastered by Ric Wilson, Digisonics, Northridge, CA

Book and Lyrics by Tom Eyen
Music by Henry Krieger

Design by 2x4
Cover photograph by Joan Marcus

Executive Producer: Robert Hurwitz

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.