Skip to Navigation


Circulado cover art

Track Listing

Click tracks with speaker icon to listen

News & Reviews

  • Caetano Veloso’s New Album, "Abraçaço," Out Now on Nonesuch Records

    Caetano Veloso’s new album, Abraçaço, is out today in North America on Nonesuch Records. The album, which was released in 2012 in South America and Europe, won a Latin Grammy for Best Singer-Songwriter Album. Abraçaço is the final installment of a trilogy with the youthful trio of 2007’s and 2009’s zii e zie known as the Banda Cê. A fusion of the traditional Tropicália style and the indie pop of contemporary Rio, Abraçaço includes 11 original songs written by Veloso. KCRW says the album finds Veloso "at his best."

  • Caetano Veloso's New Album, "Abraçaço," Streaming in Full on WNYC Soundcheck, KCRW

    Nonesuch Records releases Caetano Veloso’s album Abraçaço in North America next Tuesday, March 25. But you don't need to wait till then to hear it: the album is streaming in full via WNYC's Soundcheck. "Abraçaço, (which means “big hug”) is not some subdued, late-career exercise in nostalgia or retrospection," asserts Soundcheck host John Schaefer. KCRW, also streaming the album, calls it Veloso "at his best." You can download two album tracks, "A Bossa Nova É Foda" and "Um Abraçaço," when you pre-order the album in the Nonesuch Store.

About this Album

The Brazilian star cut his third Nonesuch album in Rio with producer-musician Arto Lindsay. The New York Times called it "brilliant ... the album moves from gentle samba to harder funk and bits of experimentation, mixing mild dissonance with Mr. Veloso's gentle voice."

Caetano Veloso's Nonesuch CD catalog is now available from the Nonesuch Store; however, free album MP3 downloads, available with other discs in the Store, are not yet included with these CDs.


Caetano Veloso, vocals, acoustic guitar (2-4, 6, 7, 10, 11), hand claps (4)
Toni Costa, electric guitar (1), portuguese guitar (6), acoustic guitars (9)
Arthur Maia, bass (1, 3, 6)
Marcelo Costa, drums (1, 6, 11); timbales, surdo (1); berimbau (2); hand claps (4); maculelé sticks (6); ceramic, shaker (9); pandeiro (10)
Marcos Amma, congas (1, 3), maculelé sticks (6), gourd (9)
Armando Marçal, tamborins, repinque (1)
Adres Levin, keyboards (1), samples (1, 10)
Sacha Amback, sample (1)
Moreno Veloso, pandeiro (1), guest vocal (3), hand claps (4), maculelé sticks (6)
Bebel Gilberto, vocal (Portuguese) (1), background vocals (8)
Audrey Martells, vocal (English) (1)
Billy Carrion, vocal (Spanish) (1)
Laurie Andriamampianina, vocal (French) (1)
Kazu Makino, vocal (Japanese) (1)
Tavinho Fialho, bass (2, 4, 10)
Jaques Morelenbaum, cello (2, 3)
Oswaldinho, accordeon (2)
Torcuato Mariano, acoustic guitar (3)
Carlos Bala, drums (3)
Jorge Ranewsky, cello (3)
Alceu Reis, cello (3)
Marie Springuel, viola (3)
Gilberto Gil, special guest on acoustic guitar (4), guest vocals (10)
Edith Oliveira, special guest on knife and plate (4)
Mônica Millet, pandeiro (4)
Wellington Soares, hand claps (4), maculelé sticks (6)
Naná Vasconcelos, talking drum, ceramic, congas (4)
Arto Lindsay, electric guitar (5, 10)
Tony Lewis, guitar (8)
Melvin Gibbs, bass (8)
Marc Ribto, electric guitar (8)
Amilton Lino, timbau, surdo (8)
Riyuichi Sakamoto, keyboards, samples (8); strings, bass, piano (11)
Butch Morris, cornet (10)
Gal Costa, guest vocals (10)

Produced by Arto Lindsay
Artistic Director: Mayrton Bahia
Recorded and mixed by Patrick Dillet at Polygram Studios (Rio de Janeiro) and East Hill Studios (New York City)
Assistant Engineers: Ue Nastasi, Kelly Davis, and Márcio Gama
Mixed at East Hill Studios
Assistants: Jeff Young, Virginia Casé, adn Wellington Soares
Mastered by Robert C. Ludwig

All songs by Caetano Veloso, except: track 2, music by Caetano Veloso, words by Haroldo de Campos (from his book Galáxias); track 5, music by Arto Lindsay (improvisation on guitar) and Caetano Veloso (composition on the improvisation), words by Caetano Veloso; track 7 by Guio de Morais and David Nasser; track 9, music by Milton Nascimento, words by Caetano Veloso

Front cover design by Caetano Veloso, executed by Arthur Froés and Vanessa Stepaneko
Photographs by Livio Campos

Executive Producer: Léa Millon


All formats of this album are available from Nonesuch in the United States only.

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.