Skip to Navigation

Somos Gitanos

Somos Gitanos cover art

Track Listing

Click tracks with speaker icon to listen

About this Album

Somos Gitanos is the Gipsy Kings’ first studio recording since the 1997 album Compas. Continuing to blend French, Spanish, and North African influences in their music, tracks like “Majiwi” merge the sounds of traditional Flamenco with Middle Eastern modalities, while “Lleva me a compass” has a strong Latinate flavor. Other tracks such as “Mi Fandango” are more roots-based evocations of the cante jondo tradition. Lead guitarist Tonino Baliardo showcases his virtuoso technique on the instrumental ballads “Flamencos en el Aire” and “Felices Dias.”


Nicolas Reyes, lead vocal (1-5, 8-10), backing vocal (12)
Tonino Baliardo, lead guitar (all)
Patchaï Reyes, lead vocal, backing vocals (7)
André Reyes, backing vocal (1-5, 8-10, 12), rhythmic guitar and palms (3), lead guitar (12)
Gipsy Kings, rhythmic guitar and palms
Georges Reyes, rhythmic guitar & palms (1-6, 8, 10, 12), rhythmic guitar (6, 7, 9, 11), backing vocal (8, 12)
Dominique Vernhes, accordion (1)
Dominique Droin, organ (1), keyboards (4, 8, 9, 11), piano (10), acoustic guitar (11)
Gérard Prévost, bass (all)
Rodolfo Pacheco, congas (1, 8, 10, 12)
Thierry ‘Titi’ Robin, bouzouk and oud (2)
Rabah Kalfa, derbouka, bender, and rek (2)
Abdel Hamid Hmaoui, ney (2)
Laurent de Gaspéris, electric guitar (2)
Denis Benarrosh, percussion (3, 5, 6, 9, 11)
Eric Berdeaux, tambourine (4)
Bob Boisadan, accordion (7, 12), piano (7)
Jorge ‘Negrito’ Trasante, drums (7), timbales (8, 12), bells (12)
Marc Jacquemin, drums (8)
Myriam Serfass, harp (9)
André Ceccarelli, drums (10)
Loïc Ponthieux, overdub cymbals (10)


Recorded by Frédéric Blanc-Garin, Studio Miraval (France) (1-4, 6, 7, 11, 12); Yves Teste, Studio Twin (France) and Frederic Blanc-Garin, Studio Miraval (France) (5, 9); Frederic Blanc-Garin, Studio Guillaume Tell (France) (8); François Delabrière, Studio Stakato (France) (10)
Additional recording by Eric Berdeaux, Studio Twin (France) & Studio Mega (France) (1); Jean Labbé, Studio Stakato (France) (6, 7, 10); Jean Labbé, Studio Stakato (France) and Eric Berdeaux, Studio Mega (France) (9)
Edited by Frederic Blanc-Garin (2, 8, 12)
All tracks arranged by Gérard Prévost and produced by Gérard Prévost and Claude Martinez for P.E.M.
Mixed by Eric Berdeaux, Studio Mega (France)
Mastered by Raphael Jonin at Dyam Music, Pari, France.

All tracks published by Sony Music Publishing, except track 2 by EMI Publishing and track 7 by Sara Music.

Design by Gabriele Wilson
Photography by Peter Lindbergh

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.