Skip to Navigation

Walking Shadows

Walking Shadows cover art

Track Listing

Click tracks with speaker icon to listen
1The Folks Who Live on the Hill (Jerome Kern & Oscar Hammerstein II)4:00
2Lush Life (Billy Strayhorn)6:42
3Stop This Train (John Mayer & Pino Palladino)4:42
4Adagio (J.S. Bach)3:14
5Easy Living (Leo Robin & Ralph Rainger)5:31
6Doll Is Mine (Kazu Makino, Amedeo Maria Pace & Simone Maria Pace)5:55
7Infant Eyes (Wayne Shorter)5:05
8Let It Be (John Lennon & Paul McCartney)5:12
9Final Hour (Joshua Redman)2:42
10Last Glimpse of Gotham (Brad Mehldau)3:26
11Stardust (Hoagy Carmichael)5:50
12Let Me Down Easy (Joshua Redman)4:55

News & Reviews

  • Joshua Redman Quartet Launches US Fall Tour

    Joshua Redman and his Quartet kick off a cross-country tour of the United States with a performance at The Egg in Albany, New York, tonight, followed by stops in Boston, Philadelphia, Santa Cruz, Berkeley, Urbana, Chicago, and Pittsburgh. "As accolades from jazz critic and the public continue to rain down on Redman, he doesn't stand still," says the Times Union, previewing tonight's tour opener. "What fans will see is one of the world's great musical minds at work, in a setting that is sure to have moments that surprise even Redman."

  • Joshua Redman's "Walking Shadows" a "Riveting Collection, Great Work of Art" (All About Jazz)

    Joshua Redman is "a musician of such intelligence and energy, who is so adaptable, that he easily finds a way to make himself at home in any given musical surrounding," writes All About Jazz in a review of his new album, Walking Shadows. "As such, Redman is perfectly suited to performing with large ensembles," as he does on the new album, a "riveting collection" and "an emotionally charged, wonderfully seamless slow burn of an album that is a great work of art." 

About this Album

Nonesuch Records releases saxophonist Joshua Redman’s Walking Shadows on May 7, 2013. The album, comprising 12 ballads, is Redman’s first recording to include an orchestral ensemble, which plays on many of the tracks. It was produced by Redman’s friend and frequent collaborator Brad Mehldau. The record’s core ensemble is a quartet featuring Mehldau, Larry Grenadier, and Brian Blade—all frequent collaborators of Redman’s over the years. Dan Coleman conducts on the orchestral tracks. Walking Shadows includes original tunes from both Redman and Mehldau along with works by a wide range of composers such as John Mayer and Pino Palladino; Kern and Hammerstein; and Lennon and McCartney. Orchestral arrangements are by Mehldau, Coleman, and composer Patrick Zimmerli. Walking Shadows is now available to pre-order in the Nonesuch Store with an instant download of the Redman-penned album track “Final Hour” and a download of the complete album available starting release day.

Redman first worked with Mehldau and Blade in Redman’s mid-1990s quartet and they have been friends and frequent collaborators ever since. Redman was a featured soloist on Mehldau’s Jon Brion–produced 2010 orchestral album, Highway Rider. Walking Shadows is the first of Redman’s records to be produced by Mehldau. Redman says: “I couldn’t be more delighted to have the opportunity to do a ballads record with strings, with Brad producing, and my other great friends and collaborators all involved. I’ve wanted to do this for a long time.”

The New York Times said of the saxophonist, “Joshua Redman is one of the most visible jazz musicians of the last 15 years, which says something not just about his natural flow as an improviser and his command as a bandleader, but also about his willingness to use words ... to represent jazz to the outside world.”

Redman’s first self-titled studio album was released by Warner Bros. in 1993; eight additional records followed on Warner. His Nonesuch debut, Momentum, was released in 2005, along with the first of two SF JAZZ Collective albums on which he served as artistic director. In 2007, Nonesuch released Back East, Redman’s first studio recording with an acoustic trio, followed by Compass in 2009 featuring double trio. His most recent album, 2011’s James Farm, featured a band of the same name with pianist Aaron Parks, bassist Matt Penman, and drummer Eric Harland.


Joshua Redman, saxophone
Brad Mehldau, piano
Larry Grenadier, bass
Brian Blade, drums

Laura Frautschi (Concertmistress), Avril Brown, Christina Courtin, Karen Karlsrud, Ann Leathers, Katherine Livolsi-Landau, Joanna Maurer, Courtney Orlando, Yuri Vodovos, violin
Vincent Lionti, Daniel Panner, Dov Scheindlin, viola
Stephanie Cummins, Eugene Moye, Ellen Westermann, cello
Timothy Cobb, bass
Pamela Sklar, flute
Robert Carlisle, French horn
Conducted by Dan Coleman

Produced by Brad Mehldau
Co-Produced by Joshua Redman
Recorded September 27–29, 2012, at Avatar Studios, New York, NY
Engineered & Mixed by James Farber
Edited by Brian Montgomery
Mastered by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound, New York, NY
Contractor: Jill Dell’Abate

Tracks 1, 12 arranged by Dan Coleman and Joshua Redman, orchestrated by Dan Coleman; track 7 arranged and orchestrated by Dan Coleman; track 2 arranged and orchestrated by Patrick Zimmerli; tracks 5, 10 arranged and orchestrated by Brad Mehldau. All other songs arranged by Joshua Redman, except for track 3 arranged by Joshua Redman and Brad Mehldau.

Design by Jeri Heiden/SMOG Design
Cover photo by Claire Dorn

Executive Producer: Robert Hurwitz

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.