Skip to Navigation


Nonesuch Artists Grab 13 Grammy Nominations

Grammy Award

The Grammy nominations are in, and a big congratulations goes out to the many Nonesuch artists whose work has been recognized by the Recording Academy, the organization behind the awards. Pat Metheny, Bill Frisell, Brad Mehldau, Ry Cooder, Emmylou Harris, Toumani Diabaté, Youssou N'Dour, Stephen Sondheim, Jonny Greenwood, and Isabel Bayrakdarian were all recognized for their 2008 Nonesuch releases, as were producers Danger Mouse and Judith Sherman for their work on Nonesuch albums this year.

Pat Metheny's Day Trip earned two nominations: Best Jazz Instrumental Solo for Pat's performance on the song "Son of Thirteen" and Best Jazz Instrumental Album, Individual or Group, with Christian McBride & Antonio Sanchez, for the album as a whole. Also nominated in the latter category are two of Pat's label mates: Bill Frisell for his two-disc set History, Mystery and the Brad Mehldau Trio for its Live album, recorded at New York's Village Vanguard.

Best Contemporary Folk/Americana Album also has more than one Nonesuch artist in the category, with Ry Cooder's final entry in his California trilogy, I, Flathead, and Emmylou Harris's latest, All I Intended to Be.

On the world music front, Toumani Diabaté's first solo record in two decades, The Mandé Variations, was nominated for Best Traditional World Music Album, and Youssou N'Dour's Rokku Mi Rokka (Give and Take) is in for Best Contemporary World Music Album.

On the film end, Nonesuch releases can be found in both the compilation soundtrack and score categories. Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, Tim Burton's take on Stephen Sondheim's classic musical, starring Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter, was nominated for Best Compilation Soundtrack Album; and Jonny Greenwood's haunting score to Paul Thomas Anderson's There Will Be Blood, starring Daniel Day-Lewis is down for Best Score Soundtrack Album. (Greenwood also received a number of noms for his work with Radiohead for their latest release, In Rainbows.)

And in the Best Classical Vocal Performance category, which is awarded to the vocal soloist, Isabel Bayrakdarian has been nominated for Gomidas Songs, her recent collection of songs by Armenian composer Gomidas Vardabet.

The Producer of the Year award is given out based on the collected output of a producer in a given year. Last year's recipient in the Classical field, Judith Sherman, who won the award in 1993 as well, is up for it again this year, for work including Steve Reich's Daniel Variations and Kronos Quartet's recording of Terry Riley's The Cusp of Magic. In Non-Classical, Danger Mouse (a.k.a Brian Burton), is nominated for producing The Black Keys' Attack & Release, as well as albums by Beck and Gnarls Barkley.


Congratulations also go to Nonesuch artists' other nominated projects, including T Bone Burnett, who garnered two nominations—Record of the Year, Album of the Year—for producing the Robert Plant / Alison Krauss collaboration, Raising Sand; composer Thomas Newman, whose work on the film Wall-E is up for Best Score Soundtrack Album, and whose score to Revolutionary Road will be out on Nonesuch is due out December 23; and Audra McDonald, whose performance on Kurt Weill's Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny with the LA Opera is up for Best Classical Album and Best Opera Recording.


For the complete list of this year's nominees, visit


Post new comment

Your email address is kept private and will not be shown publicly.