Skip to Navigation

El Camino

El Camino cover art

Track Listing

Click tracks with speaker icon to listen

News & Reviews

  • The Black Keys’ New Song, "Turn Blue," Premieres on "Serious Boredom"; Pre-Order Album to Download Track

    "Turn Blue," the title track of The Black Keys’ forthcoming album, premiered earlier today on Patrick Carney’s SiriusXM show, Serious Boredom, and can be heard here. The song, as well as the first single, "Fever," are both included as free instant downloads with LP, CD, and digital pre-orders of the album in the Nonesuch Store and at the band's site, and with iTunes pre-orders.

  • The Black Keys’ "Turn Blue" Out May 13 on Nonesuch Records; Pre-Order to Download First Single, "Fever"

    The Black Keys' new album, Turn Blue, will be released May 13 on Nonesuch Records. Produced by Danger Mouse, Dan Auerbach, and Patrick Carney, Turn Blue features 11 new tracks. The first single, "Fever," can be heard here and is included as a free instant download with album preorders, along with early access to concert tickets. Of the new album, the band says Turn Blue could refer to A: Suffocation; B: Sadness; C: Numbness from extreme cold; D: A Cleveland late night TV host from the 1960s named Ghoulardi; E: All of the above.

About this Album

2012 Grammy Award Winner: Best Rock Album, Best Rock Performance, Best Rock Song


The Black Keys’ new album El Camino will be released December 6 on Nonesuch Records. Produced by Danger Mouse and The Black Keys, the 11-track album was recorded at singer/guitarist Dan Auerbach’s Easy Eye Sound studio in the band’s new hometown of Nashville during the spring of 2011. The LP edition of the album is pressed on 140-gram vinyl and includes the complete album on CD.

El Camino follows the most successful two years in The Black Keys’ career. In May 2010 they released their breakthrough album, Brothers, to widespread critical acclaim. Debuting at #2 in the US, it went on to win three Grammy Awards and an MTV Video Music Award, and topped numerous year-end lists, including iTunes, NPR, and Rolling Stone. Brothers, which included the hit singles “Tighten Up” and “Howlin’ for You,” has been certified Gold in the US and UK, and Platinum in Canada. Worldwide sales are now over one million and counting.

Drummer Patrick Carney said of the band’s recent success, “We’ve taken the long road to get where we are. It’s pretty cool to be in your early 30s making music with your best friend. We’ve experienced everything from driving a thousand miles to play for no one to winning Grammys.” Auerbach further describes the band’s dynamic, “We don't talk before we play. We don’t practice before we record, we just fly by the seat of our pants.” He says of El Camino, “I think where this record is going to shine for me is playing the songs live. This record is more straight ahead rock and roll—raw, driving, and back to basics.”

The Black Keys—Akron, Ohio, natives Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney—released their debut album, The Big Come Up, in 2002, followed by Thickfreakness (2003) and Rubber Factory (2004). In 2006 they signed to Nonesuch Records in the US and released their fourth album, Magic Potion, which was followed by the Danger Mouse-produced Attack & Release in 2008. El Camino is the first Black Keys album Nonesuch will release worldwide.


All songs performed by The Black Keys
Additional keyboards by B. Burton
Additional vocals by Ashley Wilcoxson, Leisa Hans & Heather Rigdon

Produced by Danger Mouse & The Black Keys
Recorded at Easy Eye Sound, Spring 2011
Engineered by Kennie Takahashi
Assistant Engineer: Collin Dupuis
Mixed by Tchad Blake, except "Lonely Boy," mixed by Tom Elmhirst, assisted by Ben Baptie
Mastering by Brian Lucey at Magic Garden Mastering

All photographs by Michael Carney © 2011
Art Direction by Michael Carney

All songs written by D. Auerbach, P. Carney, B. Burton
All songs published by McMoore McLesst Publishing (BMI), administered by Wixen Music / Sweet Science / Copyright Control (ASCAP)

Please install the Adobe Flash player in order to see this content.